Back in the garden with patience and grace

IMG_5273

Finally we were in the garden today.  We planted peas on the fence, onions seeds and sets, both red and white, radishes, beets, lettuce, kale and lots of potatoes and garlic, all the seeds and bulbs that tolerate cold nights yet to come.

We pruned back the nepeta hedge that surrounds the rose garden and the potato plot.

IMG_5264

IMG_5267

Amazing how it doesn’t look like much yet, but just wait!

I overheard a conversation today between two guys, “I love being in the garden so I can think. ”  It reminded me of something Maya Angelou said on NPR last week, “patience allows for graciousness.”

With patience acquired after a long winter combined with the graciousness of spring we step into knowing ourselves with nature as our teacher.  It takes a brave soul to look at a dried up seemingly dead tiny seed and trust it to evolve into a tender leaf of lettuce if given water and warmth.   The men ask me how I know its time to plant the garlic.  I said because I read the book!  I also demonstrated that the garlic seemed to know it was time to sprout given its bright green hopeful shoot.  I told them nature gives us clues.  The potatoes had started to form apparent eyes indicating their urge to sprout in the ground, lest they sprout themselves in their box!

They also found a snake and wanted to keep it.  I said it would be much happier outside.  What fun they had though looking at it, holding it, watching it…. made me happy they had time to play, be curious and to be gentle.

IMG_5277

4 thoughts on “Back in the garden with patience and grace

  1. Interesting about planting garlic in the spring. I know it gets harvested in the fall, but in Maine everyone has told me (I did not have a book then!), no plant garlic in the autumn. So I do and cover it with straw and it is one of the first things up , tough after the daffodils. My first year I did plant it in the spring and was told to leave it all winter, come the following autumn, almost 18 months later I had some huge!! cloves.

    So dear master gardener, garlic in the spring no doubt works as you book and my instinct say. I will hold my shoulders back a bit more today.

    Wonderful words about holding your gentle men, and them holding and playing with a timy creature of God.

      • Dear Bridget!

        You can do both, plant garlic in the fall and garlic in early spring. To tell when it is done you wait until the green stems wither and turn yellow. Like many things in gardening I have found there are more ways than one to grow things. As a rule I try not to follow the rules!

        Keep the faith.

      • Thank you, thank you. Some people are so sure there is only one way. Glad there are those out there holding the line for many ways to get to the same place. Thanks again bg

Leave a Reply

